The 14 Lokas/Worlds Of Hinduism

In many Hindu scriptures there are 14 worlds/levels that are generally talked about. They are divided into two groups of seven each. The first group is said to be above earth,i.e, related to human elements directly. While the second group is said to be part of the nether world,i.e, below the earth. I would like to clarify that the word ‘level’ does not mean status here and is instead used as a ┬ámeans to physically represent these various worlds (like the levels/floors of a building). The names of the worlds are given below along with the name of the deity/element who accommodates that level.

Bhuvarloka – Sky/Akaash
Swarloka – Lord Indra
Maharloka – Lord Vishnu
Janarloka – Humans
Thapoloka – Saints/Sages
Satyaloka – Lord Brahma

Athathala – Vala the son of Lord Yama
Vithala – Lord Paramashiva
Suthala – King Mahabali
Rasathala – Asuras /Demons
Thalathala – Mayamayi
Mahathala – Sarpa
Pathala – Naga

Please do share any extra information regarding this topic, in the comments.

3 thoughts on “The 14 Lokas/Worlds Of Hinduism

  • October 27, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Dear Sir,

    Kindly clarify the following…

    Is Janarloka same pitrloka (for pitrus – ancestors) (since you have mentioned Humans as the accommodating deity/element at that level) ?

    What about 'Go'-loka (for Cows) is it some intermediate level in the first list of 7 worlds/level ?


  • October 28, 2011 at 8:43 am

    Thank you very much for your comment dear Sriram…from what i have heard,pitruloka,goloka,etc. are sub-levels of the above mentioned levels…i guess we could consider it as different departments of the same organization (level)…..hope our dear readers will share their knowledge on the topic…god bless you..Om

  • August 15, 2012 at 1:06 am

    Goloka (for cows) is above Brahma Loka. Normally these are not considered under 14 lokas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *